Post by barnestormer on Jul 4, 2018 23:07:12 GMT -5
There's an interesting scenario that popped up by someone who was playing one of his baseball games and posted the following question in the Sports Simulations and Replays group on Facebook:
David BaseballDemos July 4 at 7:01 PM
To Cycle or Not To Cycle... That Is The Question.
I may or may not have just rolled a cycle in Relay Baseball. 2017 Nats @ Phillies, bottom of the 11th, score tied at 9 with runners on the corners. Howie Kendrick up. He had previously singled, tripled and homered. The result is a 36 in column 3 which says it's a double. However, as soon as the runner on 3rd crosses the plate the game is over so realistically I am thinking he only gets a single. What say the group?
(BTW, this is not me. I've never even heard of Relay Baseball until this post showed up in my email.)
Personally, I would credit the batter with only a single and an RBI, unless he represented the tying or winning run. If that were the case, then he would be credited for the double and the cycle. However, since the runner on 3rd crossed home plate and scored the winning run, any extra bases the batter would've received would be considered irrelevant. But that's just my opinion. What's yours?
Post by Sinclairiverse on Jul 5, 2018 0:19:24 GMT -5
This is an interesting scenario, the player could be awarded with the cycle by saying it was a ground rule double then two runs would score to give the home team the victory. I know from playing MLB The Show for the last few years that whenever I push a double into a triple where the throw goes home to try and get the lead runner out I usually only get credited for the double.
In all honesty it would come down to how said player wanted to score the game, as you said as soon as the runner on third crossed the plate the game would technically be over, so the single would count at least.
WORLDS: Chris Sinclair NORTH AMERICAN: VACANT WORLD TAG: Briscoe Brothers SHIMMER: Nicole Matthews HEART OF SHIMMER: Nicole Savoy SHIMMER TAG: Mount Tessa MAPLE LEAF: Adam Page MAPLE LEAF TAG: Young Bucks HOUSE OF PAIN: Dick Justice HOP TAG: Beaver Boys PHOENIX OF RISE: VACANT GUARDIANS OF RISE: VACANT
(f) Subject to the provisions of Rule 10.06(g), when a batter ends a game with a safe hit that drives in as many runs as are necessary to put his team in the lead, the official scorer shall credit such batter with only as many bases on his hit as are advanced by the runner who scores the winning run, and then only if the batter runs out his hit for as many bases as are advanced by the runner who scores the winning run.
Rule 10.06(f) Comment: The official scorer shall apply this rule even when the batter is theoretically entitled to more bases because of being awarded an “automatic” extra-base hit under various provisions of Rules 6.09 and 7.05. The official scorer shall credit the batter with a base touched in the natural course of play, even if the winning run has scored moments before on the same play. For example, the score is tied in the bottom of the ninth inning with a runner on second base and the batter hits a ball to the outfield that falls for a base hit. The runner scores after the batter has touched first base and continued on to second base but shortly before the batter-runner reaches second base. If the batter-runner reaches second base, the official scorer shall credit the batter with a two-base hit.
(g) When the batter ends a game with a home run hit out of the playing field, the batter and any runners on base are entitled to score.